About Us

The remit of CCPi is to bring together the imaging community, maximise return on investment in software development and ensure longevity, sustainability and re-use of code. In particular it will

  • establish a framework (toolbox) within which different reconstruction algorithms, artefact reduction codes, and image analysis procedures are made available to all
  • provide practical versions of emerging reconstruction tools (e.g. iterative algorithms; discrete tomography, local tomography) leading to significant improvements in the fidelity of reconstructions
  • develop fast new parallel implementations of existing software to run on central and local (accelerator based and heterogeneous) hardware
  • ensure professional standards of code writing and documentation
  • train and support the community in the application of reconstruction and analysis tools
  • interface with/outreach to a wide user base
  • draw in mathematicians working on imaging and make their advances available to a wider community
  • interface with instrument developers to ensure that reconstruction algorithms can be applied to data acquired on their x-ray systems
  • help to define a metadata standard for X-ray projection data to aid data sharing & analysis
  • translate algorithms in from, and out to, cognate imaging modalities (TEM, PET, etc).
  • Seek to establish relevant links and funding from complementary sources (e.g. BBSRC and MRC)

Working Group Members

Chairman Prof Philip Withers School of Materials University of Manchester Email: p.j.withers@manchester.ac.uk

Robert Atwood Diamond Light Source Email: robert.atwood@diamond.ac.uk

Mark Basham Diamond Light Source Email: mark.basham@diamond.ac.uk

Dr Thomas Blumensath Engineering and the Environment University of Southampton Email: thomas.blumensath@soton.ac.uk

Dr Richard Boardman Engineering and the Environment University of Southampton Email: rpb@soton.ac.uk

Dr Alison Davenport School of Metallurgy and Materials University of Birmingham Email: a.davenport@bham.ac.uk

Dr Graham Davis Institute of Dentistry Queen Mary, University of London Email: g.r.davis@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Peter Lee School of Materials Univeristy of Manchester Email: peter.lee@manchester.ac.uk

Prof William Lionheart School of Mathematics University of Manchester Email: bill.lionheart@manchester.ac.uk

Stefan Mairhofer Faculty of Science University of Nottingham E-mail: Stefan.Mairhofer@nottingham.ac.uk

Prof Cathryn Mitchell Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering University of Bath E-mail: c.n.mitchell@bath.ac.uk

Mr Andrew Ramsey Nikon Metrology Email: andrew.ramsey@nikon.com

Christoph Rau Diamond Light Source Email: christoph.rau@diamond.ac.uk

Prof Ian Sinclair Engineering and the Environment University of Southampton Email: i.sinclair@soton.ac.uk Tel: +44 (0)20 75946812

Dr Manuchehr Soleimani Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering University of Bath Email: m.soleimani@bath.ac.uk

Prof Mark Williams Warwick Manufacturing Group Univeristy of Warwick Email: m.a.williams.1@warwick.ac.uk

Dr Winfried Kockelmann ISIS STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory Email: winfried.kockelmann@stfc.ac.uk

Dr Ceri Brenner STFC CLF Email: ceri.brenner@stfc.ac.uk

Dr Hamid Dehghani University of Birmingham Email: h.dehghani@cs.bham.ac.uk

Dr Tim Burnett University of Manchester Email: timothy.burnett@manchester.ac.uk

Dr Martin Turner STFC/University of Manchester Email: martin.turner@stfc.ac.uk

Dr Erica Yang  STFC Scientific Computing Department   Email: erica.yang@stfc.ac.uk

Core Support 

Dr Ron Fowler Scientific Computing Department STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory Email: ronald.fowler@stfc.ac.uk

Dr. Evgueni Ovtchinnikov Scientific Computing Department STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory Email: evgueni.ovtchinnikov@stfc.ac.uk

Srikanth Nagella Scientific Computing Department STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory Email: srikanth.nagella@stfc.ac.uk

Dr Edoardo Pasca Scientific Computing Department STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory Email: eduardo.pasca@stfc.ac.uk

Flagship grant 

Dr Daniil Kazantsev University of Manchester Email: daniil.kazantsev@manchester.ac.uk

Dr Jakob Sauer Jørgensen University of Manchester Email: jakob.jorgensen@manchester.ac.uk

Short-term Fellowship 

Dr Nicola Wadeson Diamond Light Source Email: nicola.wadeson@diamond.ac.uk

CCP PETMR network and flagship contact

Dr Kris Thielemans UCL Email: k.thielemans@ucl.ac.uk